I keep reading books through out the year..Hard copies,online..anywhere and everywhere…And still somehow, I have soo many books that I want to read, but haven’t found a copy of. So that’s what comprises my Reading List of 2017.

Here goes:

  • Landline by Rainbow Rowell

18081809.jpg

The plot? It tells the story of 39 year old Georgie McCool who discovers that she is able to call her husband’s 22 year old self through his landline.

Why do I want to read this? Eleanor & Park. What a wonderful, beautiful book!! I loved it…And managed to make all my friends read it too (That resulted in the book being away from me for around 5 months 😦 )..This book is what makes me want to read the other books by Rainbow Rowell..especially Landline, since the plot seems so interesting.

  • Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult

small-great-things-hc-400w.jpg

The plot? It’s a story about race, prejudice and justice.. About an African-American nurse and a baby born to white supremacists.

Why? I LOVE HER BOOKS. Be it My Sister’s Keeper, Handle With Care, House Rules… I have read nearly all of her other books..and they have touched my heart, and also made me think. What better combination is there?

  • Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

51JkhKFVIeL._SX303_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

The plot? The novel deals with class issues in rural America, intense poverty and the Satanic cult hysteria that swept the United States in the 1980s. It’s of the mystery genre.

Why? Sharp Objects. I know, I know, you were expecting me to say Gone Girl …But I haven’t read it..nor watched the movie (Yes, I should…I will :P)..But Sharp Objects I have read…and it was gripping, chilling and one of the best among the books I read last year. Hence my excitement to read Dark Places.

  • Before I Go To Sleep by S.J.Watson

Plot? Psychological thriller about a girl who wakes up everyday, remembering nothing.

Why? This book has been translated into over 40 languages and is supposed to be brilliant. I need to watch the movie as well.. Nicole Kidman, Colin Firth…Need I say more?

  • Lyrebird by Cecelia Ahern

Lyrebird-cover.jpg

Plot? It’s a love story, set in south-west Ireland, the main character being a girl, who lives alone and free in the forest.

Why? I am a big fan of her writing. Especially Thanks For The Memories, The Time Of My Life, and Love,Rosie. And obviously P.S I Love You. This book has 3.9/5 by Goodreads, and the reviews are , in general, pretty good.

Then there is The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion, Jack West Jr and The Hero’s Helmet by Matthew Reilly (it’s an ebook I think…but anyways I am a huge Jack West fan), Mrs Funnybones by Twinkle Khanna , The Trespasser by Tana French and loads more books that I want to read, and have to read.

Have you guys read these books? Were they good? Or not?

And what’s on your reading list?

Till we meet again,

Stay safe and stay happy 🙂

 

