I prefer to read whole novels, and am not a huge fan of books that are a collection of short stories. Mostly because, by the time I get fully engrossed in the story and it’s plot, it’s over!! So the ones I like, need to have a good twist, and maybe have stories that are different…one of romance, one that’s a good comedy..You get the drift πŸ™‚

That said, here is a list of my favorite collection of short stories:

  • Jeffrey Archer’s And Thereby Hangs A Tale

220px-andtherebyhangsatale

I loved Archer’s Prisoner of Birth, False Impression, The Clifton Chronicles…nearly all of his books actually πŸ˜› But I haven’t really read any of his short story collections. Except, this one. And I loved this one. The stories aren’t too predictable, and it’s like getting many stories from Archer in one book, so why not? πŸ˜€

  • The Book Lover’s Appreciation Society

Cecelia Ahern, Sophie Kinsella, Philippa Gregory, Jojo Moyes, Rowan Coleman, Kate Mosse, Alexander McCall Smith… Around 34 authors, each with their own array of best selling books, collaborating for one wonderful set of stories. This book is Awesome with a capital A. It has feel good stories, betray and murder related ones, unexpected twists and much more. And it’s a must read for those who love chick lit πŸ˜› (ME!!!) Also, for every book you buy, 1 pound is donated to Breast Cancer Care, so what’s stopping you?!

  • The Oxford Book of Detective Stories

41m87qp1h1l-_sx322_bo1204203200_

The first collection of short stories I remember reading , where each and every story kept me hooked. From Ian Rankin, Agatha Christie, Arthur Conan Doyle, to Dashiell Hammett and Sarah Paretsky, nearly all the masters of this genre (Detective/ Mystery) have written some wonderful pieces for this book. My favorite from the lot? Find Miriam by Stuart M Kaminsky. πŸ™‚

Do you guys reading short stories, or are novels rather preferable? What’s your favorite book of short stories? Do let me know πŸ™‚

Until then,

Stay safe and stay happy πŸ˜€

