There are like three subjects I used to pay attention in class to. English, Chemistry and History. And historical fiction books combine two of these three. I love books that are steeped in history but at the same time aren’t too boring or detailed. A few facts do get twisted or changed in these books, but it’s more or less similar to what happened and if nothing else, it def gets you interested in learning more about the past.

So here are my favourites from this category:

  • Jaishree Misra’s Rani

3164044.jpg

I am a huge fan of this author, especially after reading her book, Secrets and Lies. And she is the aunt of one 0f my friends from school so I guess that added to my fascination with her 😛 Now this book is engrossing. And okay maybe it doesn’t stick to the general idea of what happened to Rani Lakshmi Bai of Jhansi, but it has a lot of facts that are def true, and there is a love story woven in, which we wish had actually taken place. A truly beautiful book.

  • Alex Rutherford’s Empire Of The Moghul-Ruler of the World

untitled.png

This is the book that got me hooked on to all the other books in the Empire Of The Moghul series. I had always loved reading about Akbar, Shah Jahan  and the rest of the emperors in class, and here the author has a book on all of them individually, so I was addicted to say the least.

  • Matthew Reilly’s The Tournament

21285312.jpg

This is my favourite Matthew Reilly novel. With Queen Elizabeth as the main character, and set in around 1546, this book really takes you back in time. And it teaches you a lot about chess, and more importantly, how to win against opponents stronger than you , in chess and in life. This book was a joy to read.

There are many other books that I have heard of, like The Other Boleyn Girl, Cleopatra’s Daughter and many more. Hopefully I will get a chance to read them someday.

Till then, what’s your favourite novel from this category?? Or do u prefer watching movies set in olden times like Troy, Jodhaa Akbar and the rest?

Until we meet again, have a great day 🙂

 

